NATURE CALLING

NATURE CALLING

 

An old one, written back when we had the first airedale, who died in 1996.

 

Civilization will not allow for instinct:

no dinners of raw mice,

no clawing the eyes of enemies,

no mating

or defecating in the public streets.

 

Often, the dog scenting dog, coyote, fox

–something pungent,

instructive, on a tuft of grass–

will turn against my call, ponder, consider,

squat to make her mark.

 

One morning, as I walked

between red cedars, young pines,

stooped to move between low branches,

to follow a mossy path worn deep by wild feet,

I felt an insistent urge to pee.

 

So there it was:

a seizure by immediate beauty

–light filtered through dark pines–

compelling me to say in the simplest way I could,

my animal way,

 

I was here.  

This place is mine.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.