STILL RESISTING–a prompt poem

STILL RESISTING

Prompt #3 again: What did you most resist before you found it suited you?

 

I don’t do things I resist.

 

I resist swimming because

I sink like a stone,

I don’t like fish nibbling my toes.

 

Running makes my hips hurt.

Bicycling is too much work.

Inflexibly, I resist yoga.

 

Beets taste like dirt, only worse,

so I resist them. And goat cheese.

And martinis. And cocktail parties.

 

And answering the telephone

before noon. And attending

meetings of any kind of committee.

 

If I don’t like a book

or a movie, I stop. I resist

literary criticism with a passion

 

that borders on insanity.

Resisting does not diminish my life.

It suits me. I like

 

screens that keep out the bugs.

I like jackets and boots

that keep out the wet and cold.

 

I like my resistances.

They keep me unbitten.

They keep me dry.

Leave a Reply

