2016 April Prompt #1

WRITE WHAT YOU’VE FORGOTTEN

IF YOU CAN REMEMBER IT

Kari’s #4

 

I have forgotten how to sleep. Or

haven’t I? Don’t I remember nights

of childhood fears, the robber

climbing through my window,

my parents’ sudden death,

the terrible sound of thunder?

Can’t I remember nights

in my youth, staring

at the moonlit flowers on my ceiling,

wondering if I’d ever be loved?

Maybe I’ve forgotten

the crying baby,

the toddler with the earache.

I expect I have forgotten

lying awake listening

to fighter planes roaring

through cold war exercises,

wondering if my husband knew

he was right above our bed.

Leave a Reply

