A LETTER FROM CATHY

A LETTER FROM CATHY

~for my sister, since these are mostly her words

 

This week I am watching the goldfinches closely

to see if they notice that the lettuces have gone to seed.

Remember that article on “lettuce birds”?

 

No bears for a week–and we all know,

not seeing bears is best for the bears.

The whole yard is play-acting

 

as if Summer is all gone.

The flower heads are hanging low and scruffy.

We are really dry here, so

 

some of the ground is like hardpan–

too much heat and not enough rain.

The flowers that have thrived are portulaca,

 

cleome and surprisingly,

sweet peas.

I have decided that some misspellings

 

are new words emerging from latent

and perhaps, askew genius.

I have a keen interest in politics,

 

but our country is so polarized that it is insane.

Somedays I am so scared…

God help us  (and he will, by and by).

2 comments on “A LETTER FROM CATHY

  1. Cathleen Butterfield says:

    I am amazed and full of wonder that anyone would remember my translated thoughts and turn them into a poem. Thank you, my sweet sister. C

  2. And thank you for writing it. All I did was rearrange things a bit.

Leave a Reply

