WALKING ON MY TOES

How many relicts 

can fit in this room?

Books from my godmother.

A bowl of stones.

A shelf of bears and old dolls.

Boxes of letters.

Mother’s unlabeled photos.

Dad’s work gloves and hammer.

Tante Helen’s table.

 

Once upon a time,

a poster of all the books

a child should read:

Aesop’s Fables.  

Millions of Cats. 

Puck of Pook’s Hill. 

The Iliad for Boys and Girls.  

Dad made the frame the year I was born.

Now it hangs in my grandson’s room.

 

Mother gave me stories,

so many words.

Dad gave me his hands.

How can I be a grandmother already

when I remember so clearly

walking on my toes

holding my father’s hand,

and he dead

for how many years?

Leave a Reply

