EVERYWHERE

EVERYWHERE

 

My mother was a canyon

the green river carved

through centuries of stone.

 

She was a long train winding

between red-mud hills,

wild cucumber springing from her tracks.

 

She was the sidewalk

outside an airport where

a solitary pigeon pecked at crumbs.

 

My mother became a cobble-stone

street slick with rain;

an impassive golden angel

 

watching me from her perch

above the Paris Opera as I dragged

my suitcase with its one broken

 

wheel.  My mother was

my grandmother’s derelict

house in Ostrowy

 

where the jackdaws never change,

calling “Kawka! Kawka!”

their ancient Polish name.

Leave a Reply

