April Prompt #26

April Prompts #26

Mary’s # 2: Eulogy for an imaginary pet

 

EULOGY FOR ANGELICA

 

She loved everyone she met,

and me the most of all.

 

When I sat writing,

she perched on my shoulder.

 

When I stood singing,

she hummed in harmony.

 

In the forest or along the shore

she danced around my feet.

 

The light made rainbows

on her back; rain

 

ran golden above her head.

Her purple eyes were wise.

 

Never have I touched fur so soft,

or heard a song so sweet.

 

Now her shadow must follow me,

her music must lead me on.

Leave a Reply

