TO DO LIST

mend my dancing shoes
feed the bear
a basket to Grandmother
spindle, shuttle, needle
plant the hazel twig
take the goat to graze
fetch water from the well
strawberries in December
the frog on my pillow
so many mattresses
bread to crumble
a skull of fire to carry home

I must cut off my finger to open the mountain.
I must find the key to the dungeon door.
I must roll my stepsister to the front of the bed.
I must mop the kitchen floor.

I must learn the nightingale’s song.
I must learn to spin straw into gold.
I must let my hair grow so long
that my story will always be told.

Leave a Reply

