ON NOTICE

This time, I will not hide.
I am waiting for you,
ready with yellow flowers,
with clear water and a red bird,
with white paper and a lamp.
This time, you will not succeed.

Now I know the words,
I know the tune.  I have been
singing all day long.  My hair
smells like apples.  My hands
are stained with currant juice
and mud.  Do you think

you can break in again?
I have collected all your keys
and all my windows are open.
Did you see the moon last night?
I have nothing you can destroy
and everything I have is yours.

One of the  April prompts:  “put an enemy on notice”

2 comments on “ON NOTICE

  1. In awe of your poetry.

Leave a Reply

