APOLOGIA FOR VITA SUA–Another April Poem

I was born breech.  This
explains everything.
I have the power to heal others
by walking on them.
Although I am a vampire,
you’d never know it.
I am harmless.
It isn’t catching.

Languages come easy to me:
I speak a few that no one knows.
Often I awaken, singing,
or playing a small flute
kept under my pillow
for that purpose.
All my clothes are purple,
and all my curtains red.

My friends say I am
effervescent, spacey, ardent,
cool, and childlike.  I become
hysterical under duress.  I share
these traits with Nero, Mick
Jagger, Hitler, Diana Ross,
Gene Wilder, Prince, and Cher.

Leave a Reply

