UNDER PONTIUS PILATE

I didn’t ask for this, so unreasonable, so complex.
So contrary to common sense.

I thought him harmless enough–
no threat to the order–just another fanatic

with a herd of ragtag friends.
But the rabble was frightening–

Caesar would not approve.
And their strange religion–

just the one god
with his endless demands.

But I was sure they’d let him go,
instead of Barabbas. (How I hate

to think of that terrorist
loose again.   Caesar

will not approve.)
I washed my hands of it.

And yet, he haunts me,
standing there, still silent,

Jesus of Nazareth, King of the Jews.
What I have written,
I have written.

Leave a Reply

