A GOOD RIPPER

I cannot count the times
I have knitted and ripped this pattern.
Always something amiss:
I purled in the front of the stitch
or forgot to increase at each end
or cabled in the back
or counted wrong

and here I am again:
snarl of bright purple plies
separated and ragged
from overwork, tangle
that in my frustration I did
not rewind as I ripped.  Every good
knitter is a good ripper, my teacher

told me, but there comes a time
when the only thing to do
is cut away the frayed and grubby
mess and admit that it was wrong
from the beginning:  gauge too tight,
bad color, unbecoming shape, the design
too complex for anything I know.

 

Leave a Reply

